Board of Directors

ESR has an independent Board of Directors responsible for its strategic direction and operational performance.

Their responsibilities include acting on behalf of, and being accountable to, the Shareholding Ministers
(the Minister of Finance (external link) and the Minister of Science and Innovation (external link) ), fulfilling regulatory expectations under the Companies Act 1993, the Crown Research Institutes Act 1992, and the Public Finance Act 1989 and helping establish strategic policy.

Denise Church QSO


Denise Church QSO was appointed as Chair of the ESR Board in July 2015. She is a Director of Leadership Matters Ltd and a company director, consultant...

Read more

Marion Cowden

Marion Cowden is Deputy Chair of the ESR Board. Marion is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of New Zealand and holds a BSc...

Read more

Quentin Hix

Quentin started his law career in Christchurch in 1989, returning to South Canterbury in 1992 to join a local firm, before branching out on his own in...

Read more

Dr Andrea Grant

Dr Andrea Grant has over 16 years of international, executive leadership experience in the pharmaceutical, biotech and healthcare sectors in UK, Europe, USA and NZ, combined...

Read more

Dr Helen Darling

Dr Helen Darling graduated with a PhD in Public Health from the Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago and has founded two companies that work...

Read more

Professor Bill Denny

Bill Denny is a graduate of Auckland University, and trained at Auckland and Oxford Universities as a medicinal chemist. He is currently Director of the Auckland Cancer...

Read more

Richard Gill

Richard Gill is a creative engineer with a passion for leveraging leading-edge technologies to drive key improvements in human safety and organisational performance. Richard has a...

Read more

John O’Hara

John O'Hara has over 25 years' experience commercialising innovation for high tech companies and government agencies. John founded and led three companies - one was sold...

Read more