Laboratory-based surveillance

ESR undertakes laboratory-based surveillance of communicable diseases and pathogens of public health importance. For this surveillance, diagnostic laboratories throughout New Zealand are requested to refer appropriate samples to ESR's national reference laboratories for strain identification and epidemiological typing.

 ESR’s laboratory-based surveillance currently includes the following organisms:

  • Adenoviruses
  • Arboviruses, including Dengue, Ross River and Barmah Forest
  • Bordetella pertussis
  • Campylobacter species
  • Cronobacter sakazakii
  • Corynebacterium diphtheriae and C. ulcerans
  • Enteroviruses
  • Escherichia coli 0157:H7 and other verocytotoxin-producing strains
  • Haemophilus influenzae from invasive disease
  • Influenza A and B viruses
  • Legionella species
  • Leptospira serovars
  • Listeria monocytogenes
  • Measles, Mumps and Rubella
  • Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV)
  • Neisseria meningitidis
  • Norovirus
  • Polioviruses
  • Salmonella species, including S. Typhi and S. Paratyphi
  • Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV)
  • Shigella species
  • Streptococcus pneumoniae from invasive disease
  • Streptococcus pyogenes (group A streptococcus) from invasive and other serious disease such as glomerulonephritis, necrotising fasciitis, rheumatic fever and septic arthritis, or outbreaks of infection
  • Vibrio cholerae and Vibrio parahaemolyticus
  • Yersinia species.

 and the following antibiotic-resistant bacteria:

  • ß-lactamase-producing Enterococci
  • Vancomycin-resistant Enterococci
  • Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae, Pseudomonas species or Acinetobacter species
  • Multidrug-resistant organisms associated with outbreaks (following consultation with ESR)
  • Vancomycin-intermediate and resistant Staphylococcus aureus
  • Other emerging resistances.